Edo assembly confirms Stewart as Commissioner


The Edo House of Assembly on Monday confirmed the nomination of Mr Stewart Efe as a Commissioner and member of the state executive council.

Following screening of the nominee, the house declared him fit and educationally qualified to serve as a state commissioner , then confirmed through a voice vote by the lawmakers.

The house also confirmed four non-ex-officio members of the state Judicial Service Commission.

The four members includes Mr Dele Edokpayi, Mr Mustapha Abubarkar, Mr Anthony Ogbeibu and Mrs Felicia Ogbeide.

In similar news, the house has adopted a business calendar of 55 sitting days for its second session, first-quarter spanning between June 29 and Sep.11, 2020.

The house leader, Mr. Roland Asoro moved the motion for the adoption of the business calendar.

The motion was seconded by Mr. Ephraim Aluebhosele representing Igueben Constituency.

Welcoming members from the long recess, the Speaker, Mr. Francis Okiye thanked them for not allowing the political situation in the state to cause disharmony among them.

Gov. Godwin Obaseki had requested the house to approval for the appointment of Efe as a Commissioner in the state.

Reported by: Fatimah Oyesanmi

Total Page Visits: 630 - Today Page Visits: 1

Comment here