APC anounces Senator Ajimobi as acting National Chairman


Senator Abiola Ajimobi has been pronounced the acting national chairman of All Progressive Congress (APC) by the National Working Committee(NWC) of the party.

The appointment of Ajimobi was announced in a statement by National Publicity Secretary of the party, Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu on Tuesday night.

Until the appointment, Ajimobi was the National Deputy Chairman, South.

It was concluded when 16 of the NWC members, after its 45th emergency meeting, approved of Ajimobi as the party leader.

As the meeting chairman, Hillard Etagbo Eta, the National vice chairman South-South, addressed journalists after meeting, with 13 other members in attendance at the party’s secretariat said: ” We are aware of the appeal court order yesterday, and on the strength of that, the NWC resorted to the constitution of the party which makes provision for dealing with matters of vacancies.

“In the light of this, NWC affirms his Excellency Chief Abiola Ajimobi, National Deputy Chairman South as the acting National Chairman of the party.”

On the purported declaration by Deputy National Secretary, Victor Gaiden of himself as the acting national chair, Eta said: “Victor Giadom has since resigned his position as a member of the National Working Committee to contest as deputy governor of Rivers state and that his position as the deputy national secretary of the party has not been filled by the South-South stakeholders as expected by the constitution of the party.

Victor Giadom has since then ceased to a member of the NWC”.

In anticipation of the forthcoming Edo Governorship Primary, Eta said the NWC has constituted a seven-man panel for the June 22 primary.

Chairing the panel is the Imo state Governor, Senator Hope Uzodima and Senator Ajibola Bashiru as Secretary.

The committee also empanelled a five-man Election Appeal Panel headed by Professor Mustapha Bello with Dr Kayode Ajulo taking the Secretary post.

In attendance at the NWC meeting was the National Secretary Arc. Waziri Bulama; the National Vice Chairman Southeast, Hon. Emma Eneukwu; National Vice Chairman, Southwest Pastor Bankole Oluwajana; National Vice Chairman Northwest, Alhaji Inuwa Abdulkadir; National Vice Chairman North Central, Alhaji Suleiman Umar Wambai; National Organising Secretary Barr. Emma Ibediro and the National Legal Adviser, Babatunde John Kwame Ogala.

Others were the National Welfare Secretary, Alhaji Ibrahim Kabir Masari; National Treasurer, Alhaji Adamu Fanda; National Publicity Secretary, Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu; National Financial Secretary, Alhaji Tajudeen Bello; National Auditor, Paul Chukwuma; National Women Leader, Hajia Salamatu Baiwa Umar-Eluma; National Youth Leader, Alhaji Sadiq Abubakar and National Disabled Leader, Misbahu Lawan Didi.

Reported by: Fatimah Oyesanmi

Total Page Visits: 599 - Today Page Visits: 2

Comment here